THEN AND NOW

It’s crazy how much have changed over the years. I remember rushing whatever I was doing, just to be able to watch my favourite tv show on time. One day, I was just sitting in front of a small tv with my family and then next thing you know, I’m in my room, sitting on my laptop watching YouTube videos or even streaming tv shows online, however long past the air date.

Let’s take it back a few years ago when the tv show “Suits” premiered. Almost everyone who I associated myself with, was hooked onto this show.giphy I recall being a tad late to the whole experience and only started watching the show when season 4 was being aired. Because of this, I had to stream the show online. Maybe it was the internet, or maybe it was the server, but either way, half the time, the show didn’t load smoothly at all. Every 10-15 minutes, the show would stop and I would just be so overly frustrated that the episode wasn’t enjoyable to watch anymore.

However, when I was able to watch it quite smoothly and without any interruptions, streaming the show online was quite nice. Being able to pause the show in order to grab food or to go to the bathroom was definitely a plus, because I wouldn’t be worried about missing any good parts.

giphy1

But the feeling from watching this on my laptop by myself definitely does not compare to sitting around the living room with my family and watching in front of a tv. Recently, I’ve slowly gone back to sitting in front of the tv with my family and whenever I do, I get that rush of nostalgia. The feeling of being able to be in the same place as the same people, who are all enjoying the same experience as yourself, is a feeling that cannot be replaced.

We, who are all part of a media audience, have different ways of participating in sharing the same experience. The way we participate as this audience, has definitely evolved throughout the years, and despite it being a better or worse experience, I think we definitely need to appreciate the old times.

– G

5 thoughts on “THEN AND NOW

  1. The personal experience of this post leaves me feeling a sense of nostalgia myself. The comparison between modern 2018 streaming and structured TV air times really show us how flexible we currently have it and how no matter how hard we try to stick to what we know, eventually trends take over as we see through streaming services like Netflix and Stan and most of us are left longing for what once was.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely agree with you – how no matter how much we try, things continuously change whether we like it or not. I think the best thing we can do is definitely just cherish what it was once and see where the change takes us! thank you for your comment 🙂

      Like

  2. I feel like in our younger teenage years we shut ourselves off and all the technology that emerged at the same time made it so much easier for us to hide in our rooms all afternoon and night. As I’ve grown older I’ve started watching TV with my family again, but it’s just not the same as it used to be so I agree with you when you say we need to appreciate the old times! You chose to write about an experience that I’m sure many people can relate to which made your post captivating. I loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Then and Now 2.0

Leave a comment